2016 Kennedy Center Honors announced: Mavis Staples, James Taylor, Eagles, more to be honored

The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts today announced the selection of five Honorees who will receive the 2016 Kennedy Center Honors. Recipients to be honored at the 39th annual national celebration of the arts are: Argentine pianist Martha Argerich, rock band the Eagles, screen and stage actor Al Pacino, gospel and blues singer Mavis Staples, and musician James Taylor.

The Kennedy Center Honors medallions will be presented on Saturday, December 3, the night before the Gala, at a State Department dinner hosted by Secretary of State John Kerry. The Honors will be recorded for broadcast on the CBS Network for the 39th consecutive year as a twohour primetime special on December 27 at 9:00 p.m. ET.

Tribute performers and other information will be announced soon.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s